The YPA Manifest

THE YPA-MANIFEST

An Intergenerational Contract (18th – 19th century) is a dependency between different generations based on the assumption that future generations, in honouring the Contract, will provide a service to a generation that has previously done the same service to an older generation. The most common use of the term is in statutory pension insurance provisions and refers to the consensus to provide pension for the retired generations through payments made by the working generations.

YPA wants to adhere to the terms of this Intergenerational Contract. We genuinely are thankful for the fantastic and hard work our parents and (great-) grandparents achieved because Switzerland is currently a country filled with opportunities, world-class companies, solid institutions and outstanding infrastructure. Many thanks!

But this Intergenerational Contract is potentially at risk: there is a financial pressure on the people, aged between 25 and 45. Over the last few decades, swiss politicians have spread bounced cheques, which we need to pay.Every year, fewer people contribute to the AHV (= pension: „OAIS” – Swiss Old-age insurance system). A similar substantial redistribution from the younger generation to the older one, is seen in the BVG (= occupational pension). One tries to cover those financial gaps through major VAT increases.

In the next couple of years, this problem will continue to increase. The demographic structure of the society is no longer a pyramid but rather a Coco-Cola-bottle. Within the next few years, baby-boomers will retire en masse. At the same time, life expectation continues to increase: women have less children at an older age.

So far, politics have inadequately responded. Thus, YPA represents the interests of young and committed  professionals from different industries, who do not consider themselves as „the young & restless ones“ neither just acquiesce what the Establishment prescribes. We are independent from any politically party, but we look to reduce the redistribution from our generation to the older one. The Intergenerational Contract should apply the reliable principle of subsidiarity – one of the greatest principles in the Swiss constitutional: the Community should only be held liable when self-help impossible is.

We are willing to work until age 67 and beyond, but we insist the older generation does the same. We are willing to save more money for our retirement, but this is only possible when we are relieved from excessive tax burden.

Furthermore, a lot of laws and regulations, which are guidelines for how to live and to work, were applicable in the age of Industrialisation, but are completely against the spirit of the current new digital era. We aspire for the next successful story like Google, Amazon or Apple to be written in Switzerland. Companies need thus as much creative freedom as possible in combination with technical, social and scientific innovation and the possibility to test new business models. Our professional environment needs to become more flexible, digital and feminine.

Manifest 2017-05-01T10:32:53+00:00

Das YPA Manifest

DAS YPA-MANIFEST

Seit dem Zeitalter der Aufklärung gibt es in der Demokratie den Generationenvertrag: Die ältere Generation übergibt der jüngeren Generation ihr Wissen und den gesellschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Kapitalstock. Im Gegenzug sorgt die jüngere Generation für die Angehörigen der älteren Generation, wenn diese dazu nicht mehr in der Lage sind.

Wir stehen zur Idee des Generationenvertrags. Wir sind dankbar für die grandiose Aufbauarbeit unserer Väter, Mütter, (Ur-)Grossväter und -mütter. Dank ihr ist die Schweiz für uns ein Chancenland mit Weltklasse-Unternehmen, stabilen Institutionen und einer hervorragenden Infrastruktur. Danke!

Aber der Generationenvertrag ist in Gefahr! Die Gruppe der 25- bis 45-Jährigen gerät finanziell unter Druck. Über die letzten Jahrzehnte hat die schweizerische Politik grosszügig ungedeckte Schecks verteilt, die wir bezahlen müssen. Auf einen AHV-Rentner kommen immer weniger Erwerbstätige. Auch in den Pensionskassen findet eine massive Umverteilung von jung zu alt statt. Mit Mehrwertsteuererhöhungen werden die Finanzierungslücken jeweils notdürftig überdeckt.

In den nächsten Jahren wird sich das Problem weiter zuspitzen. Die Altersstruktur der Bevölkerung ist keine Pyramide mehr, sondern eine Colaflasche. In den nächsten Jahren gehen massenhaft Babyboomer in den Ruhestand. Die Lebenserwartung steigt weiter an. Frauen bekommen immer weniger und immer später Kinder.

Die Politik hat bisher ungenügend auf diese Entwicklungen reagiert. Darum schliesst sich die YPA zusammen als Interessenvertretung junger, engagierter Berufsleute aus allen Branchen, die sich nicht zu den „jungen Wilden“ zählen, aber auch nicht alles hinnehmen, was vom Establishment vorgegeben ist. Wir sind parteipolitisch unabhängig, aber wir wollen die Umverteilung von uns auf ältere Generationen reduzieren. Auch der Generationenvertrag muss dem erprobten Prinzip der Subsidiarität gerecht werden: Die Allgemeinheit darf erst in Haftung genommen werden, wenn Selbsthilfe nicht möglich ist.

Wir sind bereit, bis 67 und länger zu arbeiten. Aber wir wollen, dass die ältere Generation dies auch tut. Wir sind bereit, für unser Alter zu sparen, aber das geht nur, wenn wir nicht mit übermässigen Steuern und Abgaben belastet werden.

Und noch etwas: Viele Gesetze und Verordnungen, die festlegen, wie wir leben und arbeiten, waren für das Zeitalter der Fabriken geeignet. Sie stehen im Widerspruch zur digitalen Welt, die wir mitgestalten. Wir wollen, dass die nächste globale Erfolgsgeschichte von der Dimension Google, Amazon oder Apple in der Schweiz geschrieben wird. Dafür braucht es Freiraum für Unternehmertum und für technische, gesellschaftliche und wissenschaftliche Innovation. Es muss möglich sein, neue Arbeitsmodelle auszuprobieren. Unsere Arbeitswelt muss flexibler, digitaler und weiblicher werden!